What A Year It Was! 2013 In Review

Wow, was this an incredible year! It started with a massive movie musical missive against Les Mis (that lasted maybe longer than it should have), then for a while we juggled (mostly) regular posts and contributions to Hit Me With Your Best Shot at The Film Experience. That last one led to an ongoing gig writing for The Film Experience, for which I am extremely grateful (more on that in a minute). I lectured at the Queen Mary Art Deco Festival in Long Beach (and again at San Diego Comic Fest) and did the occasional podcast. The rest of the year seems dull in comparison, though I managed to gather a few great guest posts from friends, liveblog The Sound of Music Live, and break 200 followers and 100 posts before the end of the year. As always, thank you to everyone who read. Thank you also to Margaret, Adam, Gabe, and Nathaniel for contributions and support.

Now, on to some big news: The blog is going back to twice a month! I know. I’m sorry. I promise it’s for a good reason. That reason is…

I’m writing a weekly column for The Film Experience starting January 1st! (That’s tomorrow!) Katharine Hepburn, my lifelong idol, made exactly 52 movies, and for the next 52 weeks I am going to watch them in chronological order. It’s called My Year With Kate and it’s going to be yar. Really it is. I’m so excited Nathaniel is giving me this opportunity, and I can’t wait to spend a year with my favorite leading lady.

In the meantime, I’ll need breaks from Kate the Great, so I will be updating We Recycle Movies every other week. I’ve got lots of great ideas for 2014, so stay tuned here! And as always, if you have any suggestions for posts please voice them in the comments below.

Thank you all for making 2013 an incredible year. Here’s to what has passed in 2013, and what will come in 2014! I found the perfect clip to ring in the new year: Katharine Hepburn’s New Year’s Eve scene from Holiday:

Happy New Year!

 

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 11,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 4 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

About Anne Marie Kelly

Classic Film history & restoration nerd. Writer of A Year With Kate and Women's Pictures for The Film Experience. Follow me on Twitter @WeRecycleMovies.
This entry was posted in Film and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What A Year It Was! 2013 In Review

  1. Margaret says:

    Not sure if more embarrassed or proud of the commenting stat section..

Leave a Reply

